The Entrepreneurs Center Wins $2.9 million in New Third Frontier Funding to Support Technology Start-Ups

Dayton OH, March 29, 2017:

The Ohio Third Frontier Commission selected The Entrepreneurs Center (TEC) as the Dayton Region’s Entrepreneurial Services Provider (ESP). This award will grant TEC and its collaborative partners as much as $6.1 million to support the growth and development of regional technology start-ups. The new award covers two years, and will require matching dollars from public, private, and philanthropic sources to be fully deployed.

“We are thrilled that the Ohio Third Frontier Commission recognized the progress that the Dayton Region has made in developing our start-up community. This ESP award validates our efforts to link our community’s incredible technology assets with leading institutions, service providers and partners to provide comprehensive support to regional entrepreneurs.” said Scott Koorndyk, president of TEC.

The ESP program provides a variety of support programs for technology-based start-up companies, including those originating from within the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL). “TEC has been a great commercialization partner for AFRL,” said Bill Harrison, Director of the Small Business Program. “ESP will help new startups that come from AFRL technology and across the community, filling a critical gap in the ecosystem.”

TEC’s lead collaborative partner in the ESP is Wright State University, and includes other partners including The University of Dayton, Wright Brothers Institute, The Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce, CreativeFuse, and Nucleus CoShare. “We are proud to participate in the Region’s ESP, as an extension of our growing efforts to commercialize WSU technology, and to support local entrepreneurs.” said Hugh Bolton, director of commercialization at Wright State University.

TEC maintains its primary hub operation at 714 E. Monument Avenue, in downtown Dayton, and nurtures the formation, development and growth of new industrial or commercial technology-based businesses. Serving Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble and Shelby counties, TEC works with multiple partners, sponsors and collaborators.

For more information regarding TEC, contact:

Scott Koorndyk, President
The Entrepreneurs Center
937-281- 0098
[email protected].

Dayton, OH